Here are the only countries that have ever won a FIFA World Cup

The 2018 FIFA World Cup is nearly here. Twenty-one FIFA World Cups have been played since the tournament began in 1930, but only 8 countries have ever won. Meet the nations that have taken home the biggest prize on the world’s biggest stage:

  • Spain, England, and France are traditional soccer hotbeds, and each has a FIFA World Cup trophy prove it.
  • Two teams have won twice, and they’re both from South America: Argentina in 1978 and 1986, and Uruguay in 1950 and in 1930--the first ever FIFA World Cup.
  • Italy is one of European soccer’s greatest superpowers, winning four FIFA World Cup titles, most recently in 2006. That makes it all more shocking that in 2018 Italy failed to qualify at all.
  • Germany is the defending champion, and that should be no surprise: 2014 marked Germany’s 4th FIFA World Cup.
  • Finally, no team has won more FIFA World Cups than 5-time champions Brazil. Not only that, Brazil is the only country to participate in every FIFA World Cup.

Will one of these countries add to their total, or will a new nation join their ranks? The 2018 FIFA World Cup begins June 14th on Fox!